Titchy Jo

all about me, my boys and my adventures in Canada

Year One: Done

on 10/12/2012

So we’ve done it, I can’t believe we’ve been here a year.

We’ve had so many wonderful experiences and met some great people throughout our time here so far. It’s definitely starting to show that it’s been a while since I left Manchester. I’m getting used to our daily view of snow capped mountains and sandy beaches and I can confidently give ‘tourists’ directions and advice on the best places to go in and around Vancouver. Also, perhaps more tellingly there’s a sign outside the local shop saying they sell pepper spray and I now assume, like any good Canadian, that it’s to ward off bears rather than the more undesirable members of society.

I have also expanded my vocabulary, I know that Arugula, Cilantro, Poutine and Perogies are all things that you eat, BC Bud is what fragrances the air and chills out the locals and Loonies and Toonies are currency. I say Hockey without putting ‘Ice’ in front and don’t cringe before saying Soccer, Stroller and Elevator. I haven’t quite managed to say Diaper out loud yet, trousers are very much still trousers and definitely not pants and I still have to try and not giggle whenever I say hi to my next door neighbour, Randy. But all in all I think I can just about be understood in this strange and foreign land.

In a couple of days we head back to the UK for Christmas. I’m looking forward to a few weeks at home seeing lovely friends and family, buying wine in the same shop I buy food, eating cheese that doesn’t cost more than the GDP of a small European country, watching great classy well made tv and taking whole journeys on public transport without learning the entire life story of any of my fellow passengers.

We’ll be back for more Canadian fun in 2013 and have a long list of new places we’d like to explore but in the meantime thank you for reading my daft ramblings and have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

xxx

4 responses to “Year One: Done

  1. Yvonne Whitestone says:

    Brie and Downton Abbey ready and waiting! Xx

  2. Bernadette says:

    Have a very happy Christmas; your family cannot wait to see you.

    Bernadettex

Leave a Reply

